Shonen Knife & The Schoolgirls

Advertisement
Click to enlarge

About Shonen Knife & The Schoolgirls

Screaming Tarts presents… Shonen Knife & The Schoolgirls.

Over to Kurt Cobain, “When I finally got to see SHONEN KNIFE live, I was transformed into a hysterical nine-year-old girl at a Beatles concert”.

“Objectively, they can only play in a rudimentary fashion, their songs are ludicrously simple and it’s not new. Objectivity can fuck right off, because Shonen Knife are brilliant” – Artocker

Ground-breaking all-female Japanese pop-punk rock trio formed in Osaka in 1981, inspired by late ‘70’s punk-pop particularly The Ramones. Inspired, the band crafted their own idiosyncratic songs, fashioned brightly coloured outfits and DIY albums and signed to Sub Pop.

“Rocks like Motorhead designed by Hanna-Barbara” – Uncut

“There are two types of people: those in to thrashy Japanese girl-punk, and those with something wrong” – The Independent

“Pumping out prototype riot grrrl, thrashing together early punk sounds with pop melodies” – Music OMH: 8/10

The cream of the of the alt. rock scene (

Loading...

Ticket Details

Message the organiser

Hull's FREE weekly newsletter

A weekly round-up of Hull news, great events and things to do.
Featured Events
Sat 1 Oct @ 7:00pm – 10:00pm
Sat 26 Nov – Sat 17 Dec @ 7:30pm – 1:00am
Wed 5 Oct @ 10:00am – 4:00pm
Mon 31 Oct @ 7:00pm – 9:00pm
Unmissable offers
Available
Tue 27 Sep – Sun 2 Oct @ 7:00am – 9:00pm
Available
Sun 17 Jul – Sat 31 Dec
Available
Mon 5 Sep – Wed 31 May
Available
Mon 3 Oct – Thu 6 Oct

Nearby Bars & Restaurants

Nearby Attractions

Nearby Hotels & Places to Stay

Shopping!

Other Events Like This

Share with

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pocket
Share on stumbleupon
Share on pinterest

Hull news, events & special offers

Every week, we send you a round up the best news, events and offers happening around Hull & East Yorkshire. Sign up for FREE now >