Songs of Flight

Advertisement
Click to enlarge

About Songs of Flight

Songs of Flight brings together people of all ages and from all walks of life in the creation and performance of a new 45 minute work for massed chorus and City of Hull Youth Symphony Orchestra. Inspired by the incredible true stories of bird migration, Hull residents have written lyrics and melodies, arranged by composer James Redwood into a new composition looking at why birds migrate, how they navigate and the perils that they face on their long and arduous journeys.

Woven into Sounds of Flight are 4 musical sections created by the community groups working alongside professional composers and musicians: Hull Freedom Chorus and Hull2017 Volunteers with composer and song-writer Hannah Peel; Open Doors (a group supporting refugees, asylum seekers and migrant workers) with percussionist extraordinaire Gary Hammond; residents of Pickering and Ferens Homes with local folk hero Sam Pirt; and Students from Wyke College with Ben Newton, Mambo Jambo and local Turkish musicians.

This mammoth

Loading...

Ticket Details

Message the organiser

Hull's FREE weekly newsletter

A weekly round-up of Hull news, great events and things to do.
Featured Events
Sat 1 Oct @ 7:00pm – 10:00pm
Sat 26 Nov – Sat 17 Dec @ 7:30pm – 1:00am
Wed 5 Oct @ 10:00am – 4:00pm
Mon 31 Oct @ 7:00pm – 9:00pm
Unmissable offers
Available
Tue 27 Sep – Sun 2 Oct @ 7:00am – 9:00pm
Available
Sun 17 Jul – Sat 31 Dec
Available
Mon 5 Sep – Wed 31 May
Available
Mon 3 Oct – Thu 6 Oct

Nearby Bars & Restaurants

Nearby Attractions

Nearby Hotels & Places to Stay

Shopping!

Other Events Like This

Share with

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pocket
Share on stumbleupon
Share on pinterest

Hull news, events & special offers

Every week, we send you a round up the best news, events and offers happening around Hull & East Yorkshire. Sign up for FREE now >