This gallery opened to the public on 23rd August 1910. Fuelled by popular appeal and a firm conviction that they served an education and morally uplifting purpose, public galleries had been springing up throughout the country, particularly since the 1870s.
The idea to fund a public library with museum and art gallery was first put forward in 1902 when John Champney approached the Town Council with the offer of funding.
At the Treasure House and Beverley Art Gallery there are four spaces to explore, two with temporary exhibitions and two showcasing highlights of our collections.
Beverley Art Gallery’s permanent collection is displayed in the beautifully restored Edwardian space, which housed the original gallery founded by Edward Champney in 1910.